Use Storify as a teaching tool in video and multimedia production classes

Sorify, a popular content curation tool that pools together relevant web and social media contents on a topic, also lends itself to presenting multimedia materials for a lecture in journalism production courses. I have started converting some of my PowerPoint lectures into Storify presentations.

In my video production and broadcast journalism classes, I have found myself making use of a lot of web resources and materials – such as demo clips and graphics in explaining video production principles.

In the past, I would run the PowerPoint slides and, at times, click on a link on a slide which will open a webpage; when I’m done showing the demo, I need to close the web page and return to PowerPoint – in a word, a lot of going back and forth between PowerPoint and web pages, not to mention all the other distractions on the page that contains the demo piece.

Storify can do a better job than PowerPoint for two reasons: (a) it’s all in one place, and that’s a difference between clicking through multiple PowerPoint slides vs. scrolling down on one web page; (b) the Storify presentation can be shared with students – it’s always on the web; students don’t need to download the PowerPoint and run it on their computers.

I just re-worked a PowerPoint on sequence shooting into a Storify story. WordPress doesn’t allow a Storify story to be directly embedded in a blog post, so I’m pasting a screen shot which links to the story on Storify.

About mulinblog

I am a college journalism instructor who has a great interest in multiplatform journalism.
This entry was posted in 01 multimedia journalism education, 03 social media journalism. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Use Storify as a teaching tool in video and multimedia production classes

  1. Pingback: Use Storify as a teaching tool in video and multimedia production classes « Mick Say: Online Business Development

Leave a comment